



## Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

September 21, 2020

Mr. Jose Perez AES Alamitos, LLC 690 N. Studebaker Road Long Beach, CA 90803

## REQUEST FOR COMMENTS ON THE TENTATIVE WASTE DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS AND NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM (NPDES) PERMIT RENEWAL – AES ALAMITOS, LLC; ALAMITOS GENERATING STATION; LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA (NPDES NUMBER CA0001139, CI NUMBER 6113)

Dear Mr. Perez

The California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Los Angeles Region (Regional Water Board) has completed a review of the application for the renewal of your permit to discharge waste under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Program. Pursuant to the federal Clean Water Act, as amended, and in accordance with the Porter Cologne Water Quality Control Act, tentative waste discharge requirements have been prepared.

In addition, in response to your request we have also prepared the tentative Time Schedule Order (TSO) relative to this discharge that will be considered along with the tentative waste discharge requirements at the same hearing. Copies of the tentative requirements, tentative TSO and Public Notice are enclosed.

In accordance with administrative procedures, the Regional Water Board at a public hearing to be held at the Board's regularly scheduled meeting on **November 12, 2020**, at 9:00 a.m., will consider the enclosed tentative waste discharge requirements, tentative TSO and comments submitted in writing regarding any and all portions thereof. The Board will hear any testimony pertinent to these waste discharge requirements and TSO. It is expected that the Board will take action at the hearing, however, as testimony dictates, the Board, at its discretion, may postpone taking action.

Written comments pertaining to this proposed Board action must be submitted by mail or emailed to losangeles@waterboards.ca.gov with a copy to

thomas.siebels@waterboards.ca.gov, and received at the Board's office by 5:00 p.m. on **October 21, 2020**. Please reference the comments as "Comments on tentative NPDES Permit and TSO, AES Alamitos LLC, Alamitos Generating Station, CA0001139". Pursuant to section 648.4, title 23 of the California Code of Regulations, untimely submittal of written comments or evidence will not be allowed or accepted into the

IRMA MUÑOZ, CHAIR | RENEE PURDY, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Administrative Record without a showing of good cause for the delay, and in no event if any party or the Board would be unduly prejudiced by the late submittal including if staff or the Regional Water Board would not have an adequate opportunity to review, consider, and prepare responses to the comments or evidence. Additionally, if the Board receives only supportive comments, the permit may be placed on the Board's consent calendar and approved without oral testimony.

If you have any further questions, please contact Thomas Siebels at Thomas.siebels@waterboards.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Cris Morris, PE, PMP Watershed Regulatory Section Chief

cc (via email only): see mailing list

## MAILING LIST

Ms. Elizabeth Sablad, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9, Permits Branch Ms. Becky Mitschele, Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9 Mr. Kenneth Wong, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mr. Bryant Chesney, NOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service Mr. Jeff Phillips, Department of Interior, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Ms. Loni Adams, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Region 5 Mr. Kurt Souza, State Water Resource Control Board, Drinking Water Division Mr. Charles Posner, California Coastal Commission, South Coast Region Ms. Amber Dobson, California Coastal Commission Mr. Theodore Johnson, Water Replenishment District of Southern California Mr. Tim Smith, Los Angeles County, Department of Public Works Mr. Angelo Bellomo, Los Angeles County, Department of Public Health Ms. Sylvie Makara, Heal the Bay Ms. Annelisa Moe, Heal the Bay Mr. Bruce Reznik, Los Angeles WaterKeeper Mr. Arthur Pugsley, Los Angeles WaterKeeper Ms. Melissa Kelly, Los Angeles WaterKeeper Ms. Corinne Bell, Natural Resources Defense Council Ms. Joan Matthews, Natural Resources Defense Council Mr. James Ashby, PG Environmental Ms. Sarah Torres, PG Environmental Ms. Coury McKinlay, AES Mr. Ben Morgan, AES Mr. Weiko Wirta, AES